2021 Australia Day Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2021 Australia Day Award winners! Thank you for your dedication to our community. 

Carla Mills - Citizen of the Year Carla Mills Australia Day

Carla works tirelessly within our community in many areas and is the perfect recipient for Paroo's Citizen of the Year Award 2021. The organisations that Carla volunteers for are:

  • Sacred Heart tuckshop – Carla manages the tuckshop which includes planning, ordering and working at the tuckshop.
  • Cunnamulla Junior Rugby League – Carla volunteers hundreds of hours organising food, volunteers and more, and has done for the past 15 years. Carla worked especially hard in 2019 when Cunnamulla hosted the Under 10 35kg Carnival. Carla organised referees, accommodation, trophies and food and worked many hours in the canteen. 
  • Cunnamulla Bowls Club – Carla volunteers behind the bar and catering whenever required.

Carla Mills is a wonderful community driven resident who is willing to offer a helping hand to any organisation requiring volunteers or any kind of help, congratulations Carla!

Full Boar Gymkhana -
Community/Cultural Event of the Year Full Boar Gymkhana

The decision to run a brand new gymkhana and endurance event in between Thargomindah’s weekend event and Quilpie’s weekend event was made as so many people (spectators and competitors) made it to both. So with two months’ notice the race began to find sponsors, get the date out there for people to book in and to organise safe COVID practices for the event's duration.

The event was held to raise awareness for Farmer Suicide & Depression and was fortunate enough to be able to hand out Mary O’Brien’s “Are You Bogged Mate” brochures over the weekend. Over $12,000 in prize money was given out over the weekend and the event also held a very successful multi-draw raffle from donated prizes from all the sponsors.

The inaugural event received 67 nominations with spectator numbers doubling the total number of attendees the event was a great success, congratulations to the event organisers!