Welcome to the Paroo Shire

Located in Southwest Queensland, Paroo Shire covers 47,633sq km and incorporates the towns of Cunnamulla, Yowah, Eulo and Wyandra. The shire hosts vast cultural diversity within its vibrant rural communities and has a population of approximately 1700. Cunnamulla, meaning “long stretch of water”, gets its name from the picturesque Warrego river that meanders through the town and is a popular spot for fishing and water sports. The Paroo shire filled with ever changing landscape, from the open mitchell grass flood plains in the east to the Moriaty Ranges, the opal fields and the mulga lands to the west. Sharing an area rich in history, eco systems, flora and fauna, the shire is highly regarded by birdwatchers as the diverse eco-systems lends itself as the ideal habitat for many species. Main industries within the shire include beef, prime lamb, wool and goat production, apiary, wildlife harvesting, opal mining and the growing tourism industry. Located in a semi-arid zone, the region has in temperatures in summer ranging from 20 degrees to 45 degrees and winter temperature ranges from 0 to 30 degrees.